Saturday, Dec 10, 2022
CLOSE

Rules Guy: Can I use my putter for marking my ball?

What are the rules about using your putter as a marker for your ball? Getty Images It's not easy to learn the Rules of Golf! We're the experts! ..


Rules Guy: Can I use my putter for marking my ball?

What are the rules about using your putter as a marker for your ball?

Getty Images

It's not easy to learn the Rules of Golf! We're the experts! Our Rules Guy is an expert on the book. Got a question? He has all the answers.

My left hand rests next to the ball while my right adjusts the line. Do I legally have to use my putter for marking my ball? -- Casper Ransborg Denmark

Casper, you can.

You have two options to mark a golfball properly: either with a marker or by placing a club on the ground near the ball.

You could hold the putter in your right hand, and adjust the line of the ball with the left. You can do whatever makes you happy.

Rules Guy: Can you adjust the ball's alignment after you have picked up your mark?
By: Rules Guy

Get more guidance from our guru on ball-marking.

One player was putting from the fairway onto a green. He asked another player to move his marker one club length as his marker was within his line. Is it permissible to move the marker from the fairway onto the green? -- Paul Ivonye, Houston, Texas

Paul, it is permissible. Paul, it is permissible for a ball marker to interfere with strokes from any part of the course. The player can request that the marker be moved.

Rule 15.3 states that there is no limit to how a ball marker can be moved. The only requirements are that it must be measured from its original location and that the ball being lifted is then replaced. We are confident that this answer is correct.

Do you need help putting in the greens on your home course? Get a customized Green Book starting at 8 AM Golf affiliate Golf Logix.

Have a question about the Rules of Engagement? Ask the Rules Guy! [email protected] can be reached with any questions, comments or confusions. We promise that he won't make you feel like a fool.


Did you miss our previous article...
https://247healthdaily.com/golf/trevor-immelmans-tweet-about-greg-normans-presidents-cup-i-was-laughing-out-loud